Garage and 1st Floor

We’ve been a bit preoccupied lately, as we sold our home, emptied it, and moved down to the farm.  Things have been progressing on the new house, though, and I’ll try to get caught up.

Since my last post, the garage was framed up and the concrete was poured for the garage floor, back porch, and a few other areas.  Bit by bit, the cement floor that will support my resistance pool is being constructed.  It will be set in slightly below ground level so that I’ll be able to sit on the edge and swing my legs over comfortably.  You can see the pool room in this picture, with iron bars sticking up around the edge of where the pool will be placed.

I am excited about the pool because swimming is my primary form of exercise, other than hiking around the farm and weeding the garden in the summer.  Call me a baby if you will, but I don’t much enjoy the exercises where I get all sweaty.  In the months between leaving my hometown gym and having my pool built, I have gotten a temporary membership at the local community college where they have three resistance pools.  They are the same brand we are building — Endless Pools.  I have swum in the one at the college a couple of times and it works just fine.  I can push myself to go faster and longer each time and get a good aerobic and strengthening workout.

Simultaneously with having the garage and pool room prepared, the SIP walls were delivered.  These are the structurally-insulated-panels from the Porter Company in Holland, Michigan.  They are pretty neat in that they are manufactured at the factory to be the exact size and shape needed to form the outside walls, complete with the cut-outs for windows and doors.  Our builder and his crew are getting used to the unusual procedures for putting in this kind of wall  instead of “stick framing” it like what they did to make the garage.  The insulation with SIPs is very good and we will be quite energy-efficient by the time we are done.  The pictures below show the shrink-wrapped packages of panels as they were delivered and how they look as they are set into place.

Today, the building crew were making preparations to start setting up for the 2nd floor.  If the weather is good, maybe I’ll see them standing on the first floor ceiling before the end of the week!

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in House and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garage and 1st Floor

  1. michiganme says:

    Cool! Will the pool room have windows?

    • bluestempond says:

      Yes, there are windows on three sides of the room. It is a very small room, but there is about a 3-foot strip along two sides of the pool to walk around or sit and do yoga, or at least that is my hope.

Leave a Reply

