Spring flowers

I was pleased to see the first wildflowers of spring begin popping out almost overnight.  There are little polka-dots of color all over the field.  I believe the most prevalent are buttercups and bladder flowers.

buttercups and bladderThere is also a big patch of purple vetch that grows in curly vine-like growth near the pond.  I did not get a good picture of that this time, but here is a new one I actually purchased at the nursery and planted in my garden. Lupine It is called Lupine, and I am told it will spread on its own so that I can transplant it to the places I choose over the years.  It drooped a bit from the shock of being transplanted but then cranked its head back around when it began to recover and now it is shaped rather oddly.  I love the color though, and the leaves are quite pretty too.  It looks like there are more blooms on the way so they will be straight and tall.

I am happy to say that I am taking better care of my garden than ever before and it is beginning to thank me for it.  My spinach is getting fuller and I have had my first salad harvest.  I am still getting a small handful of asparagus each day.  The sweet pea plants are about 8-10 inches tall now and some of them have figured out that they are next to a fence that they can climb.  (I keep telling them but most of them don’t listen to me.)

This is not gardening, but I wanted to share a photo I took last night at the pond.  It was such a calm, quiet night and the surface of the water was like glass, reflecting the patchy clouds above.  I tossed in some fish food pellets and as the bluegills surfaced the ripples made a lovely  picture.  The almost-finished house is in the distance.  Ahhh.

ripples

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring flowers

  1. MIME says:

    That picture really shows off your back porch which IMHO is the best room of all! You could live out there all summer.

    • bluestempond says:

      Thanks! The reason the porch is visible now is that the excavator came and spread out the big piles of dirt and graded the soil so that the rain should now flow around the house and down the hill. (We hope.)

Leave a Reply

