A Slow Garden in August

My excuse is that we were too busy moving into the new house to plant the garden on time.  It’s true.  But slowly and surely the vegetables are beginning to produce.  Please admire my tomatoes, my little baby pickling cucumber, the first zinnia bloom, and one perfect sunflower.  I have harvested four or five zucchinis already, and it feels so great to just hike out to the garden to pick out my dinner.   I’m not sure they taste any different than the ones from the store, but I know that as we eat our own produce we are literally becoming part of Bluestem Pond Farm.

IMAG0501

 

IMAG0503IMAG0502IMAG0500

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Slow Garden in August

  1. Gunta says:

    There is nothing better under the sun than home-grown tomatoes.

  2. Lynda says:

    A slow garden is preferable to no garden, I say!

Leave a Reply

