My Happy Fish

After finishing with the bees today, I took Fionny with me to check on the pond.  I’ve been using pond treatments — friendly bacteria that eat up the floating vegetation and the black muck that forms on the bottom — and it has made a big difference in the visibility and freshness.  (Without it, the pond was getting a distinct musty smell that had me a little worried.)

As I wound my way around the pond I could actually see a bluegill waiting across the water by the bench where I toss them fish food pellets.  By the time I reached the bench, a large coalition had formed in anticipation of a snack.  I just couldn’t believe the water was clear enough to see the whole crowd. Maybe they could see me better, as well.

IMAG0537

If you look closely, you will see the bass who swim from side to side in schools with the long stripes down their backs.  The bluegills are less shy and stand-offish and they face me directly with their lips pursed, waiting for a treat to be dropped into their open mouths.  If the pond were murkier I would have missed the show.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Happy Fish

  1. Lynda says:

    Your pond looks beautiful! Please tell me exactly what you are treating your pond with. Mine looks like a brackish mess! Our new property has a pond there and it is very Khaki colored. BLECH! Everyone around here uses some copper stuff that strips the oxygen out of your water. That doesn’t sound safe to me.

    Thank you!

    • Nancy Calme says:

      I looked it up and here is what I bought at this website: http://www.pondandgardenwholesalers.com/servlet/StoreFront

      1 Pond Logic MuckAway 4 lb pellets- muck away-lake-algae control-natural-sludge 1 Pond-Clear Defense Liquid (1 Gallon)

      It is a bit costly, maybe $200 per summer, but it is so worth it. Nancy

      On Fri, Aug 23, 2013 at 5:04 PM, Bluestem Pond

      • Lynda says:

        Nancy, thank you so much! I look forward to seeing my fish. I know I have catfish, and I think some bass. There is another fish in there too, but I don’t know what it is.

  2. So… goin’ fishin’? 🙂

Leave a Reply

