Black & Blue-gills?

Here is an interesting development in the pond.  My bluegills and bass are growing nicely and seem very excited to see me when I come to visit.  I caught a 9-inch bass last week, the biggest I have seen yet, and some of the bluegills are 8 1/2 inches long and chubby due to the fish food pellets I throw out for them.

What I have noticed in the last month is that I am seeing a few bluegills who have turned black.  At first there was only one and I named him Black Bart.  Now, though, I see two or three at a time so they must be changing color with the seasons.  I looked around on the internet and found a couple posts where people claimed bluegills can change color with the temperature, their surroundings, and their moods!  One thought they go dark when they are feeling aggressive.  Hmmm.IMAG0579

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

