Winter 2013 at Home

This is a winter for firsts.  The first winter in our house, the first with Beezee, the first with my mother living here.  It will be the first Christmas at the farm with everyone coming here to visit.  Today, I am taking a day to slow down and enjoy the winter weather as I haven’t done much since last year.

IMG_1602

This morning I bundled up and the dogs and I trudged out to the barn to fetch my snowshoes.  We had such a peaceful time hiking the perimeter of the farm, me packing down a trail that should make the next trip a little easier.  I’d forgotten how much I love getting out to play in the snow.

The sandhill cranes were flocking in the hundreds, circling the area and echoing their gargly calls for miles across the snow covered hills.  They are getting to be old hat now and I am happy knowing that they will hang about until the spring.  I still get the impression that I’m living in Jurassic Park when I hear their prehistoric chatter through the windows.

IMG_1574

Beezee stuck her nose into a patch of burrs somewhere and came trotting back to me with her eyes sealed shut with a mat of burrs and snow.  She was surprisingly unperturbed by it and bounded happily through the drifts ahead of us.  It took me a good 30 minutes on the back porch to painstakingly pull them off of her so that she could see again.  She was a good sport about it, though, and did not pull away or growl as Fionn tends to do.

She and Fionn do not play so much anymore.  Beezee is a bit rough and aggressive when they are outside and Fionn does not like it.  They coexist peacefully most of the time indoors.  The tables turned when I bathed them both last week, though.  I washed Beezee first and when she came out, Fionn tried to corner her and make threats.  I think he was very jealous that Beezee had gotten 100% of “Mommy’s” attention instead of him and it drove him wild.  We had to put him in his crate to keep the peace for the evening.IMG_1596

Overall, winter is a good time in Michigan when you don’t have to go anywhere.  I think the worst of it is when I have to go in and out of the car and across parking lots in the cold, blowing wind.  When I take time to be outside on purpose it all gets better.

IMG_1590 IMG_1589

 

 

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Dog, Farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter 2013 at Home

  1. Lynda says:

    BeeZee is pretty!

  2. Gunta says:

    You are so lucky to have the cranes visiting.

  3. Linsey says:

    Thank you for the snowy pictures! Have a wonderful holiday season!

Leave a Reply

