A Long, Cold January

Sigh, it seems like this winter is going on forever.  I have a bad case of cabin fever and it’s hard even to force myself to do things that might keep my mind occupied.  I did some needle felting, at least until I broke my last needle and had to go order more supplies.  I have not been out to play in the snow — just can’t get motivated.  I charged up my old Nintendo and then wasted a lot of time on a silly game.  It was fun, but it got my adrenaline pumping for no good reason and made it hard to go to sleep.

We had a few warmer, rainier days and the hole in the center of the pond opened back up at last.  I’m glad to see that it is still working as it should.  One morning was beautiful and sparkly due to some unexpected sunshine.

0109140920

0116141455For my birthday, my husband gave me  a set of private music lessons at the local community college.  I used to play the french horn but have not done it seriously for 30 years.  I’m still waiting to get the schedule established and I really ought to start practicing so I don’t embarrass myself, but it’s so hard to get going!  I am very deadline driven and need a little boost.

What do other people do to survive the slow, cold winter days?

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Long, Cold January

  1. Lynda says:

    I’ve been pretty much in your boat this winter, although my reason for staying in is my knee. Today I just couldn’t take it any longer and made myself go out for a limited walk on my cane. About half way down the lane it began to snow, but nothing serious. I’m glad I did it. I haven’t felt this good for weeks, even with the bad knee!

Leave a Reply

