Summer Fionn, Winter Fionn

I’m looking for something to do, now that my mother is no longer living here and requiring so much of my attention.  I had set aside my needle-felting supplies after filling a large order of felted dogs and finding it was becoming more of a chore than a joy.  I guess boredom puts things into a new perspective.

I decided my mother may enjoy having her own Fionny sitting by her bed at the nursing home.  He looks quite different in his heavy winter coat than he does in the summer when he is trimmed and shapely.  He’s like a big stuffed teddy bear.  There are mats forming here and there where the snow clings to his legs and belly and welds the fur into clumps.  The thick coat keeps him warm in our frigid temperatures, so I hesitate to do much trimming till late March.

0220141031a

My mother loved her new little companion and thought she might like a copy of Beezee as well.  She looks the same year-round, so it will not be as much fun to capture her winter look.  Still, this is for me an art and not a reproducible mechanism.  I never know how the final product will turn out and that is part of the fun.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

