Spring Haircut

I put this off as long as I could, but with the warmer weather the time had come for Fionn to get his winter coat trimmed.  It had gotten so long and thick it just begged for hugs.  Wheaten Terriers tend to not get stinky if they are healthy, so he was just one big, live, cuddly toy.

IMG_0002IMG_0012I got him up on the grooming table and contemplated where to start.  His deep carpet of fur was hiding thick felted mats on his chest, legs, and hind end.  As fluffy mounds of blond hair began piling up on the floor around me, I began to see that he was going to need a real overhaul this time.  I like to keep it somewhat flowing and wavy but this matted mess called for practically a crew cut.  Don’t worry, it will grow back to a regulation Wheaten cut over a month or two and I’ll keep it under control till next winter.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Haircut

  1. Gunta says:

    I love either version, though he might prefer being rid of the mats.

Leave a Reply

