Perfect Day on the Farm

Some days are busy weighed down by nagging chores.  Some days are hot and muggy and you become drenched just trying to move about.  Then there are days like today — perfection!  It is in the high 70’s and there is a soft breeze blowing through the cloudless skies.

I am lazy today, although I have done a lot before lunchtime.  I got up at 6:00 and swam, then made a good farm breakfast for myself and my husband.  Plenty of nourishment for a day of chores.  That was followed by retreating to my recliner for a few rounds of Candy Crush and a little nap with a dog in my lap.  Ya know, if you can’t be a lazy bum now and then, what’s the point in retiring?

I woke up to go check on the chickens, although I did not want to bother to go get dressed so I slipped my overalls over my pajamas and my rubber boots and went out to the barn.  Everything is good and the chickens are happy.  They seem to want to spend these summer days roosting in the coop rather than patrolling the run.

Summer Loungers

Summer Loungers

I am generally not good at sitting still, but today I was drawn out to the pond to sit on the bench and soak up the sun and breathe the warm sweet summer air.  When I roused myself, I drifted back out to the barn and found a box of seed packets that had never been planted, so I scattered them in various patches in my garden or out in the wildflower fields.  Then I laid myself down in the hammock for a while.

This is heaven, today.  It is what I imagine on a cold winter day when I am longing for the season to change.  I took a new blog picture before I finally came into the house to get dressed and eat some lunch.  This is Bluestem Pond Farm in the summer of 2014.  Happy.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfect Day on the Farm

  1. calmjess says:

    That sounds like a wonderful day. I’m with the chickens – I’d rather spend my summer days roosting in the coop (aka relaxing in a hammock) than working!

Leave a Reply

