New Wildflowers

Having fields of wildflowers is an exercise in appreciating surprises vs demanding consistency.  Each year, different things come up in different proportions.  The first year we were happily inundated with Brown-eyed Susans.  In each new season, the mixture has changed depending on the weather conditions, how much the soil is disturbed, and probably how deep the roots have gone.

This year I found a few new blue arrivals that I have yet to research. The second one, I know, is Purple Vetch.  The third one looks almost like tiny blue roses.0702140937a07021409440702140941

We rearranged some of the paths through the field from previous locations and as the old paths begin to grow over, the first new occupant is clumps of tiny Asters.  They make an interesting white trail that hints at where the path used to be, like a secret stream winding down a hill.

Old Path

Old Path

I assume that as the season progresses, some of the other species will begin to mix in and gradually the aster path will fade away.

New Path

New Path

 

0702141135

Giant Ragweed

I have played God and decided that the one species that will not be welcome in my field is the giant ragweed.  They come up in scattered neighborhoods and their large spikey leaves are easy to spot as their heads begin to emerge above everyone else.  That’s when I step in and begin yanking them out.  It is an easy job and I feel like a good field manager when I have finished.  I don’t know why they come up in the groups as they do, but I did read that their flowers cause them to spread if you let them get that far.  They get to be up to 12 feet high at maturity with stems one to two inches in diameter.  I am not going to allow a ragweed jungle this year.

0702141136a

Elderberry

Last but not least, I have discovered an Elderberry bush down by the woods this year!  I don’t know where it came from but I am happy to have it.  Maybe this fall I will have enough to make an elderberry pie, an old family favorite – if you can pardon the gazillion little seeds in your teeth.  It is growing alongside our wild raspberries.0702141134

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Wildflowers

  1. Sam says:

    I’ve always loved walking through fields, discovering insects and flowers. What a joy! And to find your own elderberry too- how wonderful!!

  2. bluestempond says:

    Yeah, pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

