Chicken Nipples

Silly name, but we really do have a working mechanism now that provides four “nipples” from which our flock can get water on demand.  The good thing about it is that I only have to fill the water bucket every three or four days rather than once or twice a day.  Granted, they loved the excitement of my coming into their coop to give them fresh water, but it was a lot of effort that is no longer necessary.  This, with the large hanging feed bucket we put in, allows us to leave them alone for a few days if necessary and they’ll still be okay.0714141019

They still go crazy when I take their feed bucket out to fill it up, though.  Yesterday, I brought it back full to hang up and they were a hungry mob climbing all over each other to be the first to get a mouthful.  Beauty got carried away and tumbled out the door onto the ground and ran away from me in a panic when I tried to scoop her back up into the coop.  Fionn saw his opportunity and made a grab for her.  It was a terrible fracas as we chased them both around the yard with feathers flying, fangs flashing, and Beauty trying with all her might to squeeze back into the fence from the outside.

In the end, no one was hurt but perhaps the chicken learned a lesson in the safety of staying in the coop.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Dog, Farm Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken Nipples

  1. tbnranch says:

    I put a nipple drinker in my coop 4 days ago and my chickens haven’t touched it. I was so excited to get away from filling drinkers twice a day, disappointed. Is there a trick I’m missing? I do have another drinker out, but it’s too risky to take it away, it’s 112 degrees here.

  2. bluestempond says:

    Try taking away their normal water source, and when they are observing you at the new contraption, touch the nipples so they see water dripping out. They’ll figure it out!

  3. This is a great idea as we have to go away for a few days next month and I’ve been worried as to how they’ll be fed and watered.

Leave a Reply

