Egg Update

0917141928In case you were wondering, yes we are seeing eggs from those chickens!  It started with the lone blue egg from “Sanza” the black Araucana hen. Then one day there was a little brown egg who I think belonged to “Silver” because I saw her hop off the nest when I opened the trap door.

Day by day, new little eggs appear.  The size gradually increases as each layer matures, and coincidentally Cooper the rooster begins showing his amorous attention to more and more of his flock.  Today was a record — seven eggs in one day!  I have ten hens, so in a few weeks I expect to be sharing my excess eggs with friends and neighbors.

I am very fond of my chickens and some of them seem to return the affection.  They are a bit skittish when I reach out to pet them, but a few seem particularly interested in me and come close as if they want some special attention.  I often pick one up when they are crowding around the feed pail and gently stroke her feathers.  I find that if I put my hand on their backs first, they quiet down and can be picked up.  If I grab for them around their sides they slip out and flap away with a panicked squawk.  My hope is that they will come to trust me enough to allow more touching without running away.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Egg Update

  1. Linsey says:

    Have you sampled the eggs? Are they yummy? What if Cooper succeeds and there is a chick in there? You guys are awesome!

    • bluestempond says:

      My palate must be undiscriminating because i don’t taste a difference from store bought, except for most of them still being small. Clearly, the chickens are healthy and are doing most of the work. We gather them all every day and refrigerate so i don’t think we’ll see chicks.

  2. Isn’t it great to have your own eggs! When we first got our hens we sat in with them for a while and now they happily come up to me and peck my toes 🙂

  3. floridaborne says:

    I get fresh eggs from a guy whose chickens are his pets. So much better than store-bought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

