Attack of the Killer Ladybugs!

1013141430Yikes!  They were coming at me in clouds, hitting me in the face and crawling on my skin.  I don’t know what woke up the ladybugs today, but they were swarming and seemed drawn to vertical white surfaces in the sun.  We were trying to finish the chicken coop project and the bugs suddenly arrived in droves. I was afraid I’d inhale one.

When I went back to the house, I found that the bugs were squeezing around the door frames that had not been shut really securely and were crawling up the doors on the inside.  They are pretty clever.  When you try to pick them off the door they drop down and hit the floor where they are difficult to see and too slippery to get a good grasp on.  I figured out you have to cup your hand under them and then tap them so they tumble into your waiting palm.  It was a regular comedy sketch to see me trying to catch a handful and shake them out the door while more flew in around me.1013141425

At least they don’t bite or sting.  They do leave a residue that I find unpleasant, but every time I wash it off my hands I turn around and find another stray ladybug that I have to carry outside.

I hope this migration doesn’t last long, because it kind of creeps me out.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attack of the Killer Ladybugs!

  1. sage_brush says:

    Unfortunately, the ones in your picture look like non-native Asian lady beetles. They are dangerous, but they don’t behave like our native ladybugs do. If you end up vacuuming them up (so they don’t get in somewhere inside he walls and die – that really smells) make sure to get rid of the vacuum cleaner bag ASAP.

    http://www2.ca.uky.edu/entomology/entfacts/ef416.asp

  2. I remember a very hot summer in 1976 and we were plagued by yellow ladybirds but these bit you, they were horrible. I’ve read recently about unusual ladybirds killing the more common red ones. Do you think these guys could be those?

Leave a Reply

