Persistent Green Beans

1017141608 1017141622I’m on about the fifth round of picking the “final” batch of green beans.  Each time, I pick even the two inch long babies for a nice tender side dish.  I say good night to the garden and thank you for sharing its fruits with us all summer.  Then, a week or two later I walk alongside the garden fence and am shocked to see yet another crop waiting to be picked.  I’m not complaining, but I am amazed that the bean plants just keep on giving.  The late season beans tend to be curly and hide themselves in curves around the vines.  Perhaps they are trying to hide from me so the poor vine can achieve its life goal of reproducing.  Sorry, beans.

1017141617It has been in the 50’s and breezy all day and other than “patches of sun”, (as the Irish weathermen say), it has been heavy overcast clouds.  However, the leaves are just outstanding and every time we run out for errands it just about takes our breath away.  I know it won’t last so it is all the more noteworthy.  1017141618a The asparagus has begun turning yellow and the small patch of spinach and lettuce I planted never really germinated.  I guess we are really done.  I’ll enjoy those last beans … or maybe not the last?

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Persistent Green Beans

  1. After seeing your great success in growing beans, I’ll definitely be having a go next season.

Leave a Reply

