A Chicken Tunnel

1111141401

We made one more winterizing improvement to the chicken yard today. My husband stacked straw bales on the west wall and in front of the coop entrance to block the winter wind.  It was a good engineering exercise but the normally fearless rooster was terrified.  Cooper just could not bring himself to step out into that dark unfamiliar space, and he frantically hopped around inside the coop, clucking defensively.

I went in and shooed all the hens out through the new tunnel, but every time I got Cooper close to the hole he hopped sideways up onto the roost and scolded me.  The poor baby was so alarmed.  I went out into the rain to watch and wait for him to venture out.  I waited … and waited… Just as I had about given up, he suddenly shot out as fast as his little legs could carry him and surrounded himself with his girls.  He was a white blur.

1111141406I went out to check on them tonight and sure enough they were all safely tucked in for the night, so I guess they learned to adapt after all.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Chicken Tunnel

  1. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    I really want some chickens! We just moved so, we’ll have to see what the chances of a coop are in my future. Soon though, very soon…

Leave a Reply

