Happy Flock At Last

We picked up some kindnesses for the chickens.  A bale of straw to insulate their feet from the snow in the run, some cracked corn to peck at in the straw, and a cabbage.

1119141525I was thrilled to see them start venturing outside for the first time in two days.  They slowly migrated out in a cautious huddle until they discovered some cracked corn kernels halfway down the run and then the pace picked up very quickly.  I left part of the bale for later in case the next blizzard covers all the straw I kicked around.

From what I read, the cracked corn is good because it requires more energy to digest and it will keep their little bodies warmer at night.  Who knows?

The cabbage was a bit of an engineering project.  I used my husband’s drill to make a hole through the head, but it was just about an inch too short. That meant I had to guess where it would have come out and drill through from the other end.  Of course the holes did not meet.  I got it eventually, and was a good doobie, cleaning all the wet vegetable matter out of the drill afterwards.  I threaded twine through the hole with a long screwdriver, and climbed a ladder to hammer a nail into the rafters to hang it.  They have no clue why I did all that, but hopefully they’ll be really excited when one of them figures out it is swinging food.

1119141533

Last, I applied Vaseline to Cooper’s comb and wattles to prevent frostbite.  It was surprisingly easy because he allowed me to pick him up and did not even peck at me when I was smearing goo all over him.  He’ll have some problems with the combination of a sticky comb and fresh straw, but he’ll figure it out.

1119141531b

 

 

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Farm Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Flock At Last

  1. zannyro says:

    What a good heart you have!

Leave a Reply

