Frostbite

I have tried to protect Cooper from the cold Michigan winter, I really have!  Several times I have scooped him up and cradled him in my arms as I smear sticky Vaseline on the tips of his comb and wattles.  He bends his neck away sideways, keeping his head level while he eyes me warily but he never pecks or squawks at me.  I murmur sweet cooing nothings to him and stroke his feathers with the non-sticky parts of my free hand.  Then I gently set him back on the ground and he walks away with no alarm or indignation at having been handled.0102151158

I don’t know what happens to the blackened frostbit tips of his comb.  The spots either fade away or die and drop off because some days later I no longer see them.  He still has that charming pointed comb afterwards, so perhaps the tips grow back as they were before.  I’ll have to keep observing this winter and see if I can figure it out.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frostbite

  1. I wish I could get your posts on roosters to my friend in Panama (who speaks only Spanish and doesn’t have regular internet access). She treated her roosters much like she treated her dogs, and they responded accordingly. She would be delighted to see that someone from the US does the same with their chickens!

  2. bluestempond says:

    I don’t habla espanol but it’s nice knowing I have a kindred animal-loving spirit in Panama.

  3. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    So sweet! And good to know the thing about the Vaseline. I don’t think it gets cold enough here to have to worry about it too often but then — Southern weather can be so crazy! I don’t have chickens yet but it is definitely on my list!

Leave a Reply

