Low-Carb Adventures

This is not a food blog, although I do love to cook – especially to bake my own bread.  The bad news is that we’ve been on a low-carb diet for 4 months and that means I’ve probably had 4 slices of bread in all that time.  Boo hoo.  Looking ahead to a lifetime of this, I decided I need to find some way to put baking back into my life.

So, I went out to the internet and found a product that claims to provide flour with most of the carbohydrates removed.  Well, somewhat removed, but balanced out with “vegetable fiber” to cut down the total carb count.  (I read that as “sawdust.”)  There are other ingredients and some patented enzyme treated wheat product, which sounds suspicious but I decided to try “Carbalose”.Carbalose

Such an attractive package!  I drove 45 minutes to a health food store that sold 3 lb bags for about $15.  Pretty pricy, but maybe it will be worth the experiment.

The first thing I made was cheezy herbed biscuits for Christmas day.  The recipe called for a spin-off product called “Carbquick” but I added extra baking powder hoping it would be close enough.  The verdict was… not close enough.  They had a strange consistency and a weird flavor.

I had already spent the money, so I continued experimenting.  I made bran muffins that tasted not so bad.  They need to be warmed up in the microwave to have some moisture in them, but they are very similar to “the normal kind,” as my little daughter used to say.

Yesterday I made bread, following internet tips by substituting almond flour for 1/3 of the flour.  I gave the dough about 3 hours of repeated watering down, kneading, and rising.  It came out like a big brick of biscuit.  Back to the drawing board.

I looked all over the internet for recipes and tips but the manufacturer does not provide much and their website is really poor.  Still, I miss my bread and I don’t give up easily.  I’ve ordered a big box of Carbquick because they say they provide lots of recipes.  Let’s see if I can find some way to make a low-carb lifestyle more maintainable.  Bring on the pseudo-bread!

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Low-Carb Adventures

  1. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    The things we do to try to be healthy! Whatever it is it needs to taste good. Or what’s the point? If it’s not good I’m not gonna eat it. Good for me or not. I rather have a bit of something that is bad for me if it tastes good than a large portion of some good for me tasteless cardboard. Although I know I MUST lose some weight this year – at this point the “plan” is still milling around in my mind.

Leave a Reply

