Frozen Eggs

spotted eggWow!  So cold yesterday that the chickens refused to leave the coop and the eggs I pulled from the nesting boxes were frozen solid.  Two of them had cracked and the frozen egg whites pushed out between the cracks like rubber cement.  An uncracked egg was spotted with brown dots. We both laid in bed last night worried, imagining frozen carcasses greeting us in the morning.

But no, all was okay when I opened the coop door.  The worst thing was the blast of ammonia fumes escaping into the winter air past my nose when I opened the door.  I needed to get them out into the run to breath some clean air and get a little exercise.

I broke up the bales in their run and sprinkled straw across the light snow.  It was reassuring to see that the chickens took their cue and filed out behind me once they saw something other than white on the ground. There was smorgasbord of kitchen scraps waiting for them so I hope they’ll stay outside today.  I aired out the coop for a while, threw in a few more inches of wood shavings to insulate the floor, and changed their light timer to radiate all day long.  I feel like a good mommy, now.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frozen Eggs

  1. yup, its cold outside right now..

  2. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    Whoa! Frozen eggs in the coop? Now, that’s cold!

  3. Chickens are smarter than we are when it comes to winter.

Leave a Reply

