Smarter Than The Average Chicken

Was it my imagination that the straw kept getting deeper in the chicken run?  I’d cut the string on a couple bales so I could layer straw over the snow when necessary, and today I discovered an entire bale had been spread – but not by me!0117151030a

I’d love to know whose idea it was, and whether it was just the scratching instinct or whether they actually had a strategy for warming their feet in deep insulating straw.   I guess it is all for the best if they are happily getting out for the fresh air and exercise.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smarter Than The Average Chicken

  1. patsyporco says:

    Sounds like fowl play to me.

  2. Patsyporco stole my line!!!

Leave a Reply

