Weathered Comb

Poor Cooper.  This harsh winter has done a number on his beautiful comb, and I don’t know how much longer he can hang onto it.  0221151208aAt the beginning of winter, I worried about the black tips that kept forming.  After single digit temperatures for days at a time, even after holing up in the coop to stay warm, it is really beaten up.  I am still applying Vaseline every week or so to give it a healing boost, but it must be really uncomfortable.

The hens are getting cranky as well.  I’ve begun to notice areas where the queens of the pecking order have been pecking feathers out of the poor underdogs.  I applied some vaseline to a bare patch on Beauty that was a little bloody.  I think they just need the weather to improve so they can get out into the run and work off some excess energy and crabbiness.  I wish I could just exert some motherly influence and make them play nice.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

