Return of the Cranes

0314151009aWe are blessed to get flocks of Sandhill Cranes around here, although I still have not figured out what time of the year they gather.  My first year, squadrons were circling all winter. Last year, there were not that many and I really missed them. Now, I’m beginning to hear their prehistoric call day and night. This little group flew over me this morning as I stood on the porch feeling the soft March breeze.

I don’t know if they are gathering to fly farther north or if they are coming home to feast on the local cornfields. Whatever, they are beautiful and I’m happy for their presence.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in fam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return of the Cranes

  1. Inkplume says:

    Hi Nancy,
    Thank you for the follow, which led me to the discovery of your blog. We live a distant suburb of Montreal which is almost country (although it is being developed much too much for my liking). Yesterday I heard and saw the first geese flying back to our area. It is the sound that’s the sweetest to my ears in the spring and the saddest in the fall when they leave.

Leave a Reply

