Wren House Expansion

0314151432aI love the trill of a nesting house wren. My ears pick it out of the jumble of sounds in the yard and I can hardly concentrate on anything else while my eyes dart around looking for the little bird. This is why every birdhouse I’ve ever put up has only a small hole, too big for any other bird to slip into. Unfortunately, I never seem to get a wren family, although they’ve built nests before. I’ve read that the male builds several nests and his female counterpart chooses the one she likes the best.

This year I noticed that both my wren houses have been altered by someone who was mad they couldn’t squeeze into the hole. Probably sparrows, or maybe the barn swallows I see swooping about the barn and the front porch in the spring. I guess some occupant is better than none. I’ll give up trying to manage the bird population and just enjoy the show.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

