Mother of Chickens

IMAG0136I dove into the sunny afternoon yesterday and did a thorough spring cleaning of the chicken coop, down even to the scrubbing the floor and walls with chlorine-water. I feel like a good mother, now. I aired it out, rinsed everything with the hose, and refilled the nesting boxes and floor with fresh, clean pine wood shavings.IMAG0138

I got no thanks when I opened their little door, just a mad rush to the hanging feed bucket. They were all irritated that I’d kept them from eating and laying their eggs for a couple of hours. No matter, feel very good about it and am now looking at the old straw spread on the floor of their run, debating whether I have the energy to rake it out and start fresh as well.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

