Starting on the Vineyard

My husband’s big project of the year is to plant the vineyard. 0511151026The vines are coming at the end of May, so this weekend he is having friends over to help set up the trellises. I hope the weather cooperates. Here is the giant auger he borrowed from another farm friend to dig the post holes. It hooked up to the “PTO” on Timmy the Tractor, which provides the turning power. I think it looks like a giant stinging insect.

He has prepped the vineyard with neat north-south facing rows that have already been tilled twice and fertilized. 0511151028My husband does everything with great care and planning, as opposed to my own slapdash careless stabs at a new project. I have no doubt that this will be one elegant vineyard. We’ll have two rows of white wine grapes, two rows of red, a row of concord grapes for jam and juice, and room for future planting. The vineyard chores – pruning, spraying, and weeding – will keep him busy for the first two years before we are able to harvest any grapes.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starting on the Vineyard

  1. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    I love that! A vineyard of your very own! We found a grape vine of some sort in the back of our property. We are going to make a trellis of some sort to support it and see where it goes. I am thinking it is probably Scuppernong. Seems to be the grape of choice by most in this area. Good lunch with all that!!

  2. lifeunderacarolinamoon says:

    Uh. That’s good luck! I must of been thinking of wine for lunch. HA!

  3. bluestempond says:

    I’ve never heard of Scuppernong. We have wild grapevines that try to take over the fields now and then, and I yank them out. I don’t think they’d produce anything usable.

Leave a Reply

