Strawberry Harvest

We are now right in the thick of the glorious strawberry season, and I’m getting a little overwhelmed. I learned that berries do not ripen any further after they are picked, so my daily visit to the strawberry patch is wracked with a hundred snap decisions – is it deep red enough or should I risk it for another day?

The last week has been really rainy and I missed a day of picking. Today, I found a lot of luscious red berries had begun to rot where they leaned on the soil, lost forever. I fetched a second container and tossed each berry into either the family bucket or the chicken bucket. It took a bit of concentration to get the rhythm going and I had to go back and fix my errors quite a few times – chicken, family, family, family, chicken, oops! Family, chicken, family…

The chickens were smiling with their jackpot, but I want to minimize the losses next year. It has occurred to me, they are called straw-berries, after all.  Maybe I need to lay a thick blanket of straw under the vines next year to keep the fruit off the ground? I am a very ignorant farmer, but I can be taught even if it is all through trial and error.

I’m getting about four pounds of berries a day right now. My mother always recited, “A pint’s a pound, the world around.” Which leads me to estimate that this is about two quarts.0616151256 0616151321aI was able to test my theory when I brought them in, washed, and sliced them up. Four and a half pounds came out as nine or ten cups, or five pints. How about that!

0616151335I looked up in my trusty “Ball Blue Book” how to preserve strawberries, and I used the freezing recipe where you add a small amount of sugar to the cleaned and sliced berries, so now I have three quart bags for this winter.

I really struggle with culling out my precious little plant babies. I planted sunflowers and it hurt me every time I plucked out a seedling to thin the crop enough for the others to grow better. The same with my strawberry vines. I rejoice to see how each year they spread just a little further and up until now I have not had the stomach to say, “No.” and stop the migration.

This year, though, I think I have reached my limit and after the growing season ends I am going to heartlessly assert my will. The strawberry patch is five or six feet across in some areas and even with my considerable ballast, I struggled to stay on my feet as I leaned as far over as I dared to reach the ripe morsels in the middle of the patch.  The question is, should I make a path down the center or yank up the vines that are encroaching on my asparagus? Perhaps I could transplant them into the newer end of the row that has not really flourished yet.  Never mind, it’s my problem and not a terrible one to solve. I just have to get over my issues of forever cheering on my little growing things.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strawberry Harvest

  1. You have a lovely harvest there. You should totally make some strawberry pretzel salad. The water bath canning recipe for strawberry jam from that same Ball book is also a winner if you want to take the time.

  2. Sam says:

    Good luck with culling the patch and deciding where you need an aisle- that’s always hard for me too! A layer of straw really does work like magic under strawberries!

  3. bluestempond says:

    So I’m right about that? All right, now i have a plan. Thanks for the validation.

Leave a Reply

