Over Already?

Wasn’t it only three days ago I was feeling the glory of an abundant strawberry harvest, and looking forward to hauling in two quarts a day for the next week? I had to miss a couple more days due to rain, and tonight I went out to collect what I expected would be another bountiful bucket.

0619152044bBoo hoo! My chicken bucket of damaged and mushy berries was almost as full as my family bucket of nice ones. On top of that, I don’t see an abundance of semi-ripe strawberries waiting in the wings anymore. I guess we’re approaching the end, and it came much too quickly.

At least the chickens were happy with it, although not as crazy about the treat as they were with the winter oatmeal. Perhaps an overripe berry is not much more appetizing to them than it is to me.

If you look closely, you’ll see that the hens are beginning to develop fuzzy feathers over their bald backs. I’ve been feeding them “Feather Fixer” feed for added protein and it may be helping. Observe Cooper’s manly broad shoulders. What a handsome devil he is!

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

