A Good Growing Year in Michigan

I feel bad for my farm blogging friends in the west who are struggling with drought, and am all the more grateful for the lush growing season we’ve experienced this year here in Michigan. We were away for a few days and came home to quite a job of pushing back the weed population that seems to grow three times faster than the crops we are encouraging along.

0713151231Our prairie fields are the exception, as they border on “weeds”. In fact, wouldn’t you say a weed is in they eye of the beholder? Our fields of wildflowers and grasses were planted with great care and considerable expense, but after the initial planting they take over and manage their own population at their own whims. Different things take precedence in different years.

This year, we are only in mid-july and already the tallest plants are well over my head, so between six and seven feet high. When the dog 0713151232goes hunting through the brush for rabbits and mice, the only way we know where he is is the subtle shaking movements in the tops of the plants. (I was going to say, “weeds”, but there we go again with semantics.)

When it is hot and humid like today, after a morning downpour, I can’t stand to walk around for long. The steamy fields are foaming with flying insects who find me interesting to touch, and it doesn’t take too much effort on my part before my post-menopausal body begins to glow and steam on its own. So much for the fresh hairdo and makeup for going out this afternoon. I have to just set my sights low for my own appearance and think … “camping posh!” We had a family photo shoot when the kids were visiting recently, and I’m so used to giving up on my hairstyle that I did not notice till later that I had not even brushed my own hair! Well, it’s the inner beauty that counts, right?

0709151541bI was in Minneapolis over the weekend and had to snap a shot of this wonderful sculpture of a dancing couple. They looked dignified and graceful despite their size and inspired me to look past my own imperfections and just enjoy being who I am.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Growing Year in Michigan

  1. calmjess says:

    I realized after the photo shoot that I’d forgotten to put on the makeup I packed and brought all the way from Colorado… oops! I thought we all looked good anyway, and the photos are great!

Leave a Reply

