Rascally Rabbits

0721151518I’ve been debating how long I can get away with picking asparagus before I have to let it go all to seed. The weeds had gotten the better of me again, and I wasn’t sure I could face yet another long session of pulling out blades of grass. The decision became clear when it occurred to me that, let’s face it, we’re getting pretty bored with asparagus. I held myself back from snapping off the stalks that were ready today and I’m sure by the end of the week they will have branched into tall ferns and will be so relieved that I finally let them get on with it.

So, on to the next crops! It turns out we have three kinds of tomatoes this year – “normal”, purple, and Roma. I picked some of the simple round, red ones and then took a look at the purple row. How do you know when they are ready? One was huge and lumpy but kind of a bruised-looking red, so I plucked it off. I’ve set it on the kitchen counter to see what happens as it ripens a little more. The Roma tomatoes are green and plentiful, and I hear they all ripen at once, so I’ll keep an eye on them.

0721151519Next, on to the cucumber and cantaloupe vines. The cukes are producing fast and furious and we keep trying to come up with new ways to eat them. The cantaloupes amaze me! I’ve never been successful growing them, so it is quite surprising to me that there are 6 or 7 in various stages of growth. The only time I was able to get one to grow before, Fionny grabbed it in his jaws and ran. He thought it was a ball, I guess. I never got to see how it would have ended up.

Now, for the less successful story. Joe planted two long rows of onions that look quite elegant. We’ve never done onions before. Strangely, he has come out to the garden lately and found some peeking out of the soil and one actually rolled loose onto the path. 0721151523We thought maybe the rain had washed the soil away, or maybe this is normal onion behavior? Well, I think we have figured it out. We have observed little rabbits slipping out of the garden through the fence in the morning, and Joe believes they are scratching away the soil around the onions. I do know they are nipping off the tender shoots on the green bean plants.

I guess this means war. Too bad, because I like little bunnies. We’ll have to fortify the fence with something that has smaller holes. I keep seeing pictures from my “Peter Rabbit” books in my mind, and I can’t help but feel sympathetic to the resourceful little rascals.

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

