Trip to Silver Beach

Yesterday was a glorious, breezy summer day and I decided we needed to get off the farm and go enjoy what Southwest Michigan has to offer. We drove over to Lake Michigan (a.k.a. “The Lake” to us locals) to check out Silver Beach state park in St. Joe.  We’ve lost our youthful enthusiasm for baking on the beach, but we loved sitting on a bench to watch the children frolicking in the fountain.

It was fun to see all ages of kids discovering the fun of blocking the little spouts with their feet or swatting at the water as they were squirted in the face. E0730151643very 10 minutes or so, the fountains would suddenly stop, the kids would scream and run, and the tall water canons around the edge of the circle would shoot a big solid stream into the center, where the braver kids scrambled to find a place in the crowd to be blasted from above. 0730151646What a great way to spend a summer day! The rip tides in the lake were active and there was no swimming allowed, so the fountain was the main attraction.

0730151709bI listened to the kid inside of me and pulled my husband onto the carousel to ride the pretty horses for a $2 token. They had a display with old home movies of children on the kiddie rides back in the 60’s, when I remember going with my family.  I recall the fun house with the hall of mirrors, the obstacle course full of rotating tunnels and a round platform that spun while you tried to walk drunkenly across it. I fell and skinned my knee, but felt better when my father told me I’d gotten a “floor burn” just like the big basketball players get.

We had a nice dinner at a restaurant on the bluff, and a little ice cream cone to lick as we walked down the long steps to find our car. I felt like a kid again as the warm breezes hit my face through the car windows on the drive through the countryside for home. 07301518460730151856

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip to Silver Beach

  1. What a great post! You painted a such a vivid picture of a idyllic summer day, and I love that you included a picture of yourself. 🙂 I really enjoyed reading this!

Leave a Reply

