Flowers – Never Too Many

I hear myself complaining about all the work involved in processing the vegetables coming ripe in the garden. (What a baby I can be.) 0809151801However, you’ll never hear me complain about excess flowers. My sunflower gardens are profuse and happy this year. Both by the garden fence and out behind the vineyard, these babies are seven or eight feet tall, maybe more, and covered with sunny blooms. I love bringing them in for the coffee table or just admiring them from a distance in the field. The birds and the bees are happy with them as well.

This year I planted flowers that I’d seen on another blog and they are just beginning to bloom. I believe they were called “Sea shell cosmos”, although in my typical careless manner I threw out the package and did not record what they were. 0809151654They have an interesting shape and a variety of colors. I’m having fun watching them develop although I don’t know if they will produce enough blooms for any indoor bouquets. Still, flowers are just for happiness, (unless you are growing them as a business, but that’s a whole different story.) I’m content to relax and watch them swaying in the breezes.

I am grateful to Mother Nature for taking the time to create things that just bring happiness.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers – Never Too Many

  1. Rachel says:

    Beautiful! Those cosmos are truly unique. Are those petals tubular?

    I love lilies, and I used to grow about four different kinds of them, but I haven’t in several years. I’m going to go flower-crazy once we buy our house this fall. Next spring is going to be a wild burst of colors!

  2. diannegray says:

    I absolutely love sun flowers. I planted some last year and the seeds have now gone into the sugar cane field and sprouted – oops! 😉

Leave a Reply

