Getting Bowled Over with Bounty

Okay, it’s early August and the lovely large garden my husband planted with such care has grown up and is delivering on its promises. Help! I love fresh produce, but I’m drowning here.

The green beans did not do so well, so we have just our normal amount of beans for every other dinner and freezing the excess. A neighbor traded me big pan of yellow and purple string beans and zucchini for a pile of our excess tomatoes, and I’m looking forward to the variety. 0808150753Still, even after handing off about a dozen, I have a big basket of tomatoes calling out to me as they ripen on the kitchen counter.

As is my normal Sunday routine, we got up early to drive off to church, came home in the early afternoon for a nice nap, and then I went out to the barn to check on the chickens and the garden. An hour later, I came back in with two bushel baskets 0809151750of vegetables crying out for attention.

So okay, now I wash it all, set the almost-ripe tomatoes out somewhere to redden up, and start planning for the next two or three days of processing. I’ll have to look up some recipes for tomato sauce, tomato soup, and begin preparing for the all-day task that my husband takes on of creating his old family recipe for “chili sauce”, what is nowadays known as salsa.

Here is the bad less good news. Take a look at the remaining garden. There are a few tomatoes waiting in the wings once I have processed the ones I’ve picked the last few days. Only about 5% of the Roma tomatoes have come ripe so far and the purple ones are still a mystery to me, how to know when they are really done.0809151754

Joe did such a great job of planting this garden, but I think next year we will have to confer on how many and which plants will go in. Bounty is great, but come on – there are limits to what I can withstand!

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting Bowled Over with Bounty

  1. Linsey says:

    My favorite part was of this entry the post-church nap. I did that all the time when I played there! Would love some of your tomatoes…

  2. calmjess says:

    Mmm looks delicious! I’m a fan of baked stuffed tomatoes. And I’ve always wanted to try making sun-dried tomatoes – maybe if you have extra Romas you can experiment.

  3. calmjess says:

    This is the recipe I’ve had on my to-do list for a few summers. Unfortunately it’s just too hot here to have the oven on all afternoon: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2008/08/slow-roasted-tomatoes/

  4. bluestempond says:

    Interesting! As it happens, I had just gotten done ordering myself a dehydrator when I got your comment, so I think I’ll go down that route.

  5. ShawnR says:

    I used to can tomatoes and then I froze them. Now I do the slow-roasted oven-dried tomatoes and put them in my freezer. They add so much wonderful flavor to anything I make – I won’t go back to canning them!

    • bluestempond says:

      I purchased an electric dehydrator this week and just finished drying several big tomatoes. It took a long time, but I threw a handful on a pizza I was baking and they tasted like sun-dried. Full of concentrated flavor. I also now have 8 quarts of canned tomatoes. The more, the better.

  6. patsyporco says:

    Oh, to have your problems: “Bounty is great, but come on – there are limits to what I can withstand!” My garden wasn’t planted this year and I envy you yours. Thanks , calmjess, for the link to the slow roasted tomatoes. That recipe sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

