September Begins and the Garden Winds Down.

0825151411This is our first year of onions in the garden, and despite the rabbits continually digging them up by the roots we still got a good number of nice big ones. Being the rookie that I am, I had to look up what you do with them next. The best advice I found was to string them up by their green shoots until they have dried to a nice crispy paper shell on the outside. So, there they are.

It was easy enough to tie them together from a long piece of twine, but you should have seen me up on a ladder trying to haul the string up and over a few nails. Those babies got heavy!  I’m not quite sure if I’ll be able to find a good place in the basement to store them that I will be able to remember to check for spoilage. For me, out of my line of sight is out of my mind. (No, wait, not exactly out of my mind…)

0828151547In case you are interested in the status of the new vineyard after a few months of growth, lookee here. Joe has been caring for them really well, pruning off any potential fruit and tying the new vines up onto the trellis. Every few nights, he goes out and smashes any Japanese beetles who plan to munch on the leaves.

He tells me that this year their job is to develop the root system, and in the spring he’ll cut off all those vines they so eagerly grew so they have to start all over. Poor things.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September Begins and the Garden Winds Down.

  1. When it comes to gardening, YouTube and google are my friends. Your onions look lovely. I can’t wait till we get more raised beds in our yard. Onions and garlic are two things I want to grow.
    Happy September!

  2. Reblogged this on Vector Charley and commented:
    Here is a blog you will want to follow if your travels bring you to Southwest Michigan.

Leave a Reply

