Watch Those Feathers Grow!

Well, I can’t account for why my chickens have had bald backs all summer, but I can now account for the egg laying volume dropping off. They are molting! I’ve never seen this before, and I’ve been watching the amazing process of feathers popping out. There are also feathers floating all over the coop and the chicken yard. This is a new development.

Here is Red, last week when she was covered in 1/2 inch spines. Now, here she is a week later with the spines spreading out into soft feathers. What a difference. Maybe it’s too hard to see without double-clicking the photos, but I am amazed by the transformation.0916151100c0918151424

The chickens are busily rolling in their dust baths, and today I even caught the rooster taking his turn. Apparently, this is standard chicken hygiene behavior.0918151628e

I got my special bad-tasting solution to spray on the chickens to discourage them from plucking each other. Maybe I’ll wait to see how molting season shakes out before I start wrangling them off their roost and trying to spray them.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

