Plan B for “Red”

The evening after I posted my new plan for Red, out in the fenced garden to protect her from the bullying behavior of her sisters, we got a heavy, wet snow. I did not have the heart to leave her outside in a blizzard, so I set her back into her nest box prison while I waited for the weather to clear. It did not clear up. In fact, it has been bitter cold and the ground is still covered in deep white drifts.

I checked on Red yesterday to see if at least her new feathers were beginning to fluff out so she would hold in some heat. Those stinkers had plucked out every one! She was back to square one, no feathers on her back or tail, shivering in the farthest corner of a nest box.20160215_155701

Okay, plan B. I went to the farm store and bought a red heat lamp that could be left on round the clock, and we set up a cage in the barn. She has her very own food, water, straw, nest box, and I even threw in some dried meal worms for extra protein. Now maybe her feathers will have a chance to grow in without losing all the ground they gain. I hope her body has enough energy to try one more time.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plan B for “Red”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Do you know why chickens treat each other this way? It just seems so odd! Fighting for food, I can understand, but why do they gang up on one unlucky chicken, and pluck it’s feathers out? As you can tell, I’ve never kept chickens, so I’m clueless!

Leave a Reply

