The Next Big Thing

We are slowly, tentatively, approaching the big day on which our Bluestem Pond Farm adopts its first two goats. I had always thought, “Sheep!” I have a spinning wheel and am able to spin out thread for yarn in a clumsy way, peppered with lots of swear words for the first hour until I regain the rhythm of it. The more I talked to people about it, though, the more I learned that although little lambs are adorable, once they grow up they lose their affinity for humans and form their own tight little clique.

I really do want my animals to like me. So, my experienced farm friends tell me, I should get goats instead. After a good deal of research, I found a local farm that raises angora goats who are bred for their soft luxuriant wool. (Do you call it wool if it is from a goat?) Clearly I have just about everything left to learn before I dive into this, but we visited the angora goat farm and put a deposit on “Edison” and one other baby goat yet to be decided. The one I am hoping for is black with a white dollop on his forehead. I’d like to call him “Hostess Cupcake”- “Cupcake”, for short –  but my husband insists he’d feel ridiculous calling out such a name across the pasture.

20160518_171749Anyway, we’ve been hard at work preparing the farm to receive the new residents. My husband did the planning and budgeting and purchased all the materials and tools to fence up the goat pasture. Over the last two weeks we have been picking away at the task. And what a huge task it is!

We borrowed an auger to drill the post holes and then hand-dug out the last foot of hard soil to bury the wooden posts four feet deep and perfectly straight. We strung wires to hold the corners firmly in place and put up the neat new gate.  Next, we pounded metal stakes every twelve feet (yes, all perfectly in line and vertical.) This week, we rolled out the fencing and stretched it tightly down each side with the jeep before attaching it to the corner posts and to each of the metal stakes. Believe me, we were tired at the end of each hard day of muscle-work.

It’s cool to look out the window now and see the goat corral just waiting for life to begin. We have a little bit of time yet to get the food and water mechanics figured out and then to escape for a summer vacation before we bring the goats home, but the plan is no longer a theoretical dream. We’ve invested money in it now so there is no turning back!

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Farm Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Next Big Thing

  1. Lynda says:

    I’m so excited for you! This is our dream too, but we are nowhere near to being ready for them yet.

  2. bluestempond says:

    Ready or not, here we come!

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    How fun! I’m looking forward to reading about the goats!

  4. Linsey says:

    As long as you don’t let them get your goat! 😂

  5. Goats are so lovable. You won’t regret it–though I love our sheep as well.

  6. bluestempond says:

    I hope you are right!

  7. michiganme says:

    Ah, isn’t that the truth…when I invest money into something, I’m usually more accountable. One of my favorite song when I was a kid was Bill Grogan’s Goat. If you want a laugh, google the lyrics sometime!

    Molly

    >

    • bluestempond says:

      I did go out and look at the song. I never learned that one, but I hear that goats don’t eat everything as the legend implies but they do get into a lot of mischief.

  8. diannegray says:

    Goats are wonderful – I’d love to get some, but they might decide to eat the sugar cane 😦

  9. bluestempond says:

    That’s a problem we certainly don’t have in Michigan.

  10. Good luck to you. Goats are the most friendly of farm creatures, you won’t regret it.

  11. Karen says:

    Your putting in lots of hard work but the results will be worth all the effort. I bet you’ve been sleeping well at night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

