How To Grow Broccoli?

This year, we tried an experiment and planted a row in the vegetable garden with eggplant, broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts. I like to eat all of them, but could we make it grow? The plants are all growing well except for a little issue of bugs 20160706_152237chewing on some of the leaves. But the broccoli took off on us and I don’t know what to do.

It seems to have gone straight to flower. I thought, maybe you have to wait a while until it turns into those nice compact bunches you find at the grocery store. I think not, though.

I watched a you-tube video where a guy cut that off and then harvested neat little bunches for dinner every night. I tried it, cutting off the whole flowering bush. As it turns out, the chickens really loved it and picked off all the little blossoms, leaving the stems. I am still waiting for that mini-harvest I saw on you-tube, though.

There are blossoms on the eggplant that look promising. The cauliflower has a dark little clump in the middle that doesn’t look too appetizing but maybe later. I see nothing that looks like brussels sprouts. I wonder if I did something wrong?

20160706_152217Last year I was unsuccessful at growing zucchini, of all things. I thought you couldn’t mess that up. The squashes withered away after each teased me with about three inches of growth. I think we concluded we had Powdery Mildew, but it was too late to treat it by that time.

This year, so far, it is a bumper crop. Here, you see two mounds of zucchini, a mound of cantaloupe, and hiding on the far end, cucumbers that have just started producing fruit. I have done nothing to prevent the mildew but so far I haven’t seen any. Maybe it is because we’ve had a very dry summer so far. I’ll have to remember to watch for that if we ever get some rain.

 

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Grow Broccoli?

  1. Hi. With brassicas you have to make sure that the ground is well and truly compacted. If it wasn’t then this would explain why the Brussel Sprouts had blown and the flowers developing on your Broccolli could be down to too much heat/ lack of water. I never have any luck with Broccolli either!

  2. bluestempond says:

    Oh! That would explain it. We have raised rows with rich but fluffy soil from compost with straw mixed in layers. It makes it easy to pull burdock and dandelions out by the roots, but it sounds like it is not so friendly for the broccoli. Thanks for the input.

Leave a Reply

