New Goat Home

20160720_174636

The adoption is complete, and our two angora goat kids are installed into the home we built for them. My husband put together a nice shed and a fun playground to keep them entertained. We found a hay supplier and put up 12 bales in the corner of the chicken run. I have no idea how long this huge pile will last.

20160720_174935

Then, we brought them home. The first day, Eddie was quite subdued and skittish when I came into their field but Everette seemed to trust me right from the start. The second day, Eddie was miserable, panting and feeling low in the 90+ degree heat and humidity. By the third day, though, both of them came running to see me, wagging their little fluffy tails behind them.
They learned pretty quickly that visits always 20160720_174625involve treats to eat. They don’t get as excited about the peanuts or carrots I thought they’d love, but fresh green beans off the vine are like cocaine!

I am getting ready to start training them. This is a new skill I have yet to learn, but according to my reference materials, goats can be trained to walk on a lead, to do tricks, and to stand politely 20160722_193323while I trim their hooves and check them over for any health problems. They haven’t ventured up onto their playground yet, either, which surprised me. Maybe they are still feeling a bit timid or it’s just too hot to play this week.

I’ve been giving them friendly pats and scratches when they eat so they know I am fond of them. At first, Edison (the white one) would rear away when I touched him but now he’s willing to ignore my advances. One day soon, I hope he will come running for some affection. I am being very careful to avoid giving them the feeling they can push against my hand if I scratch their heads. The books say this will encourage them to butt me and once they get bigger it will be a serious problem. Everett wanted a green bean very badly yesterday and got up on his hind legs to take it from me. I shouted, “No!” and he got down so I am hoping that is the beginning of his good manners training.

Here is a photo of both of my boys. I am having to break myself of a tendency to call Eddie a “she”. I am sure I will learn, but for some reason I keep thinking of her (there I go again) as a girl.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Goat Home

  1. Wow they are gorgeous, how old are they? Goats are one of the most loving of farm type animals and once they are used to you and know where the treats are coming from, they will follow you anywhere !

  2. bluestempond says:

    Thanks, I think they are very handsome. They are just four months old, but they seem quite big, probably because of all that mohair.

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    They are so cute! I look forward to reading about their progress as you train them. How big will they be when they are fully grown?

  4. bluestempond says:

    You know, I really can’t say how big they’ll get but they aren’t fully grown for 2 years. These guys will not get as big as un-castrated males – especially their horns and attitudes.

  5. diannegray says:

    They’re lovely! I’m looking forward to more pics and finding out how they go as they settle in 🙂

Leave a Reply

