Making Friends with Goats

20160801_175633I think these guys are beginning to really like me! I came out to bring them their dinner and found them out in the middle of the field, munching on flowers. I called them and they came thundering through the underbrush with their tails wagging and met me at the fence. I enjoyed their enthusiastic greeting.

I stepped over the low part in the electric fence and held the dish of goat nibbles way out ahead of me to lure them away so they wouldn’t knock me over, but still they circled my legs and leaned in as I walked to their food bowl. I think this could get to be a problem as they get bigger and heavier. Today I brought a folding chair out into their pasture and sat with them after dinner, feeding them peanuts. I called them each by name before giving them a treat. I hope they start to catch on that they should respond to their own names. The black one, Eli, is really pushy. Now and then I have to shout at him and grab him by the beard to stare him down. I don’t know if this will work to teach him manners, but I am trying.

I sat scratching their backs and talking to them for a while, then stood up and walked out to the far end of the field. They followed! We took a nice little stroll together and played follow the leader. Eli decided he wanted to lead and stepped out ahead of me and then stopped so I had to push him out of the way a few times. At the end, I said, “Let’s go!” and I began to trot back to the barn. They took off running and shot past me, perhaps in a panic that there was something to run from. I couldn’t coax them back. I don’t quite understand this goat world yet.

 

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Friends with Goats

  1. I love your goat story and your goat picture. As an animal lover, I just feel that it’s so special when you get to interact with animals. Looking forward to hearing more. . .

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    Sounds as if you are making terrific progress!

  3. bluestempond says:

    I hope so! I’m making it up as I go along.

Leave a Reply

