Primping For The Fair

I want a couple more chickens to pump up our egg production. A friend suggested that rather than starting from chicks, maybe I could buy some at the livestock auction at the county fair. So, tonight I went over and scoped it out. 20160803_192644At the poultry barn, 4-H kids were preparing their birds for the big show tomorrow, and I found it pretty amusing. This one was getting a bath and a manicure.

I had to ask around at the barns, but apparently you can’t bid on laying hens, just meat chickens, aka “Broilers.” (Is that a cruel nomenclature, or what?) So, that endeavor was a bust but I still got a delicious elephant ear out of the trip.

20160802_091509On another topic, I am full into my August chores of weeding, picking, cleaning, and processing vegetables from the garden. It quickly gets overwhelming. I stopped to check on the green beans yesterday morning and the next thing I knew I was dripping wet and hauling in a bushel basket full of work to do. Fresh stuff from your own farm is a delight, except for the guilt over the old produce still on the kitchen sink while the new stuff waits on the back porch.

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Primping For The Fair

  1. I’m learning about growing vegetables. This year I have yellow squash, zucchini, lots of herbs (they seem to thrive on neglect) and chard. Earlier we had some cauliflower that was quite good, but it bolted very soon. I drive to a friend down valley to get fresh chicken and duck eggs. I discovered that duck eggs are the bomb for baking! Have fun at the fair!

  2. bluestempond says:

    I’ve never tried duck eggs. I don’t think I’m ready to adopt ducks yet!

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    I can honestly say I’ve never seen a chicken getting a bath before! And I both sympathize with and envy your problem with too much fresh produce from your farm. I know it’s a lot of work, and so many things ripen all at once, but still, I’d love to have such an abundance! Spoken like a true city girl, I know! The grass is always greener…… Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

