Don’t Count Your Chickens…

I was sad yesterday, when I went out to check on the chickens and found that two babies had gone missing. They are small enough to slip in and out of their cage so I chalked it up to natural selection. Some predator had gotten a nice little nighttime snack.

20160818_133605When I went out later to say hello, lo and behold, there were six of them again! It’s a mystery. Perhaps two had walked up the ramp and slept in the chicken coop. Maybe they’d found a warm hiding place underneath the coop floor. Whatever, I am glad to have my full half dozen back and growing their big-girl feathers as fast as they can.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Count Your Chickens…

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    I know predators must eat, too, but I’m still glad to know that they didn’t get any of your chicks!

Leave a Reply

