Here it is, in Black and White

We sheared goat number two, Ely, and now I am taking the next steps in processing their coats. All the mohair has been thoroughly washed and I am most of the way through the process of picking it all apart and pulling out the weeds, hay,and straw that was stuck in it. 20160904_101401Eddie’s soft and fluffy white mohair is all done and I laid it all on a table in the heat yesterday to dry. Eli’s is a big matted black mess and has a completely different character than his brother’s. Some patches are straight, stiff black hair that I have to toss out, and some are fluffy and gray, with lots in between. (You can’t see by the photo very well, but the first hour’s sorting of the black fleece is on the table too.)

Since the first shearing of a kid is really special and the softest it will ever get, I am going to do all the spinning and creating by myself, even though I am no master at knitting or crocheting. I am planning to dye the white mohair in multiple colors according to my Angora Goat book’s instructions. By the time I’m done I will feel much more expert in the ins and outs of the whole process.

The goats, themselves, look pretty pathetic. Their hair is flat and oily and if they were dogs I’d long ago have given them good soapy baths. I don’t think I could get these guys to stand still for a scrubbing, but they sure need it. I was quite worried about Eddie for the first week after he was sheared because he hid away in his shed most of the time and was very unhappy, barely eating or drinking anything. He is finally back almost to normal so I am breathing a sigh of relief.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here it is, in Black and White

  1. JodiMelsness says:

    How quickly does their hair grow back?

  2. bluestempond says:

    You are supposed to shear them twice a year. I did such a sloppy job, maybe I’ll need to do it sooner.

  3. Patsy Porco says:

    Poor Eddie was embarrassed. My Golden Retriever used to get embarrassed every summer when we had him shaved. Now he likes it. Hopefully Eddie will get used to it, too.

  4. bluestempond says:

    Hmmm, that’s an idea.

  5. Ann Coleman says:

    I really admire you initiative in sheering your own goats, sorting the fleece and actually planning to spin it yourself!

  6. bluestempond says:

    Thanks! We all nend our hobbies.

  7. diannegray says:

    What a great job you’re doing. Eddie will recover (I remember my german shepherd used to get all funny and coy when I’d shave him in summer, but he ended up loving it) 😀

Leave a Reply

