Building a Community

20161127_161617It seems to me that life in the barnyard must be pretty dull. Each day is pretty much like the last and visits from those at the house come only a couple times a day. And so, it is heartening to me to observe my goats and chickens beginning to appreciate each other’s company.

I kept the chickens penned up this morning since we’d be away until after lunch. When I did get out to visit and opened their door, they streamed out excitedly and the whole pack of them headed into the goat shelter to look for stray food pellets. Ely sniffed around to investigate and the chickens paid him no mind other than to flap a little out of the way if his big clunky hooves got close.20161127_161332

I sense that they kind of enjoy one another’s company. That makes me happy. Watch out, it also makes me think about expanding the family.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Building a Community

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    It’s nice to see them enjoying each other’s company! My horse used to be “friends” with the barn cat. The cat would stand on the ledge of his stall window, and my horse would be right next to it, resting his head on the ledge as well. Maybe it was just me, but the seemed to be communicating with each other.

  2. Sophie Duncan says:

    ​Hi Nancy

    These are some friends in Virginia about to set off on the same adventure as you two. Thought you will be an inspiration and encouragement to them.

    xxx

    Sophie​

    • bluestempond says:

      Hi, Sophie and James! I’m glad to have another follower so that we can learn from each other. Just have them click the “Follow” button and they’ll get an email when there is a new post.

  3. Rae Irvine says:

    Hello my name is Rae. I am a friend of Sophie’s . I love your Blog. I have Chickens and Goats all so. I clipp my extra Roosters wings and put them in the Goat pen to watch them for a year or so then I can pick the Roo I think is the best looking. The Roos and the goats love each other. The chickens keep the soil turned near the hay so it drys out faster and the chickens get all the bugs. I toss extra feed in when I feed the goats. Everyone is happy.

Leave a Reply

