Where is Everybody?

20161204_173924I went out to check on the chickens and tuck them in tonight. Even though I’ve put a heat lamp in the coop to give them twelve hours of light, they had filed into the coop for the night at 5:30 pm. I looked in on them and the roost was suspiciously uncrowded and cold.

I turned my head and found the rest of the big girls. The nest boxes are not supposed to double as  bunk beds! 20161204_173930That explains my having to scoop droppings out of the wood shavings every morning.

Still, that only accounted for the eight adults. Where are all the babies? I went out to the run to see, and here they all were, piled in a warm pyramid. You would think that warm light coming from the coop door would lure them in.  It looks like I’m not going to be able to socially engineer this after all. 20161204_173823

 

 

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where is Everybody?

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    What’s that old saying? “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink!” I think you are doing your best, and the chickens seem to be coming up with their own solutions as well.

Leave a Reply

