The First Really Cold Night

It is one of those days I just feel grateful to be able to sit in a snug, warm house. Listening to the howling wind shaving the edges of the dry snow off all traces of my afternoon footprints, I took pity on my poor goats. If ever they need the stall in the barn, this must be it. The wind chill is well below zero already.

20161214_173043We went out and emptied the stall of the things we’d stored there, threw down some pine shavings and put a bit of hay in the feeder. I thought ahead and closed the door to the chicken coop so the goats couldn’t crowd into that space and throw everyone into a panic. It’ll keep the chickens warmer tonight, anyway. We moved the heated water bucket into the barn and were all ready to go.

I unhooked the electric fence and Ely came zooming into the chicken run with a mischievous glint in his eye. When I did not scold him, he wasn’t sure what to do next. Eddie began bleating in panic that he was separated from his buddy and I herded him through the door and locked it. Then, I just had to coax them both into the barn. It wasn’t so hard with a few peanuts.

We watched for a while as they got acclimated. They quickly figured out how to use the dog cot although their first idea was to chew on it. Eddie stood up on his hind legs to look out the window and see what forbidden things he could reach. I am pretty confident they can’t do anything really bad, but I won’t worry about them tonight, at least as much as I would have. We’ll see what I find in the morning.

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The First Really Cold Night

  1. Barb Knowles says:

    I didn’t even notice the one peering out of the window until I read that part! I hope they do okay tonight

  2. JodiMelsness says:

    For some reason, my beagle is going in and out, in and out! And it’s freezing in Minneapolis!!

  3. Kim Gorman says:

    The animals look cozy. We’re getting a cold front coming in in the Northeast, too. Freezing temps and strong winds on the way.

  4. Ann Coleman says:

    They look rather happy and snug in their new digs! Hope the severe cold doesn’t last too long!

  5. bluestempond says:

    It’s still frigid but I just put them back in the barn after 8 hours of fresh, cold air.

Leave a Reply

