Foiled Again

Perhaps I am just an overly nervous, first-time goat mom. I have put them into the barn several nights now, out of fear that they’d be too cold out in their shelter. But I am beginning to think it is my problem, not theirs.

I was concerned because the wind beat holes in the tarp that encloses the front of their shelter, so I went to the hardware store and bought a roll of Gorilla Tape, the one the man at the store said was the strongest and most likely to hold anything down. First, I used it to tie down the food tray that hangs from the wall in their shelter. They keep knocking it upside down for some reason, so my aim was to hold it firmly to the bar on which it hangs.

Even as I worked to secure the tape around the bar, they were already busily nibbling the other end and trying to dismantle my work. I had to tuck my gloves firmly in my pockets so they wouldn’t steal them while my fingers were busy ripping tape. I think I managed to get it stuck in an area they can’t reach so perhaps the food will no longer get dumped.

20161220_130749Next, I began securing long strips of tape to the battered tarp. I beat the goats away as they did everything they could to rip it back off while I worked and they finally wandered off. Suddenly, Eddy’s white nose and teeth poked through the hole from the inside of the shed and ripped a big hunk of tape right through the opening. Aaagh!

So, what I’d thought was the wind creating those holes was actually just bored goats chewing them open from the inside. I guess I give up. At least they did not have any interest in swallowing the tape so I don’t have to worry about emergency vet visits.

20161220_130039Last, was to break the thin layer of ice off the top of their heated water bucket. Oops, it was one solid block of ice. I’d moved the bucket back outside when I let the goats out of the barn but forgot to plug it in. I had to bring it in to thaw and remove the big ice cube and then replace it in the pen. They only showed marginal interest in the water, despite all the work I put into getting it for them.

So the moral of the story is… Quit worrying so much, they are fine.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foiled Again

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    It sounds as if the goats are adapting to the cold weather just fine, but i don’t blame you for worrying and trying to make things a little bit warmer for them. I’d do the same thing, and probably get the same results.

  2. I used to put sweaters on my goats and close them in at night too. After a few years I realized it WAS my problem. It’s hard to see them out shivering in the cold (and mine complain about it), but they do have fur and each other to stay warm. πŸ™‚

    My sheep knocked down every portable shelter I ever made for them. LOL

    Happy holidays!

    • bluestempond says:

      I want to relax and believe that they are fine on their own in the cold and then I get a chill of fear that I may be harming them. I’m going to try hard to go with trust that they’ll be okay.

      • I’ve spent many a sleepless night over the goats πŸ™‚ I’m always worried about bedding and parasites–and then spring comes with the babies! Very stressful!

        My vet jokes about goats being able to thrive on neglect–as she’s treating my pampered animals for weird illnesses! BUt I love them.

Leave a Reply

