Spring Teaser

20170111_155551We are in a temporary thaw, with furious winds last night shaking the house and helping to evaporate off some of the excess moisture. The animals are taking this as a sign of spring and everyone is frisky. I opened the door to the chickens and they quickly spread out into the field to stretch their spindly little legs. The goats were delighted with the company and thundered at a gallop from one end of the pasture to the other, wagging their tails all the way.

I am not going to tell them the truth…that in a few days we’ll be back to winter and being cooped up and squeezed back into the narrow snowy path between the hay rack and the shed. I dread going out to put the chickens to bed because they were spread all the way out to the tree line and I don’t want to have to chase them all over with a stick. Hopefully, they will recognize bedtime and come in on their own. Last night I had to wade out to the goat shed because the gang of six decided to have a sleepover. I said no.

20170111_155905I strolled over to the pond and enjoyed the play of light over the melting ice. The temperature changed so fast that it is melting from the top down rather than the center out, if you know what I mean.

Now it has started raining and the sun has disappeared so I guess I’d better get booted back up and go rustle myself some chickens.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Farm Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Teaser

  1. Lynda says:

    That spring teaser is not fooling anyone here, although it has allowed me not to have to go out every 3 hours and crack ice! Not the same as your pond to be sure, but I have a kiddie pool that is 4 feet by 8 inches and was frozen solid for days. Yesterday it thawed enough to allow me to dump it out and start fresh. It was still about 4 to 6 inches thick! The geese appreciated that! 😀

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    We had the same weather in the past two days! It was a nice break, but today winter is back, with worse on the way. I’m glad you enjoyed the little snippet of spring…

Leave a Reply

