Signs of Spring 2017

20170218_074454We are having an early thaw and it’s fun to see all the harbingers of spring around the farm. We met this little guy in the driveway this morning and the dogs were thrilled. He “played possum” and waddled away as soon as the coast was clear. Possums have kind of charming little faces until they show their teeth.

I recently met a major milestone, in that I finished spinning all the mohair from my two angora goats. Since this was my first experience with it, I am sure it took a lot longer than it will in the future. I ended up with (literally) about a thousand yards of home-spun yarn. Now, I am in the middle of knitting lessons so I become capable of making things with what I have created.

20170217_160907Now that I have finished the whole mohair cycle, the goats have regenerated that long curly hair and next month I’ll have to shear them again. I would really prefer to pay someone to do the shearing because it was hard! I felt very inept and frustrated and vowed to farm out the work next year. I haven’t yet been able to find someone to do it and after six months, I can’t help thinking, “How hard could it really be for just two goats?” I was not yet that comfortable with handling them in September but we are more familiar now. Let’s see what happens.20170217_161013

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm Animals, Fiber crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Signs of Spring 2017

  1. Lynda says:

    Last summer we had some opossum babies scurrying about out back and WOW are they adorable! They might entice you into thinking of making one a pet, that is, if they didn’t grow up and have all those sharp teeth! I love that you are raising sheep for wool and following the process through to an end product. I will enjoy seeing what you create.

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    Shearing sounds hard to me, too! And I think it’s wonderful that you are learning to knit so you can create things out of your very own home grown and home spun yarn!

  3. Kim Gorman says:

    It must be wonderful being so close to the earth and the animals. Looking forward to seeing what you create. It will be like coming full circle.

  4. cigarman501 says:

    My blue heeler puppies had a habit of bringing me early morning possums. I would let them out around 3:30 and at 4:00 find a present curled up in the floor. They would wait under a persimmon tree until ole possum came down. They would be unhurt “playing possum”. Both puppies are blind now but still wait under the persimmon tree.

Leave a Reply

