Sleuthing It

sherlock_holmesI’ve got a mystery I’m trying to solve.  A couple days ago, sitting at breakfast, I noticed a strange tingling tug at the corners of my mouth. Not the poetic hint at an oncoming smile or laugh, but a strange tightness. Curious, I went to the mirror and saw nothing that corroborated my sensation. Hmm.

The tingling went on all day, spread a little, and became itchy. When I went to bed, I imagined that I was getting itchy around other parts of my face and I began the run-through of all the new-ish things I may have eaten or  chemical products I may have used.

Sunday morning I crawled out of bed preparing to primp for my turn leading part of the church service. I glanced at the mirror and… Yikes! My eyelid was swollen and halfway overlapping my eye. I looked like a monster. My first thought was aesthetic. How could I get up in front of people looking like this? I took some Benedryl and held a hot washcloth to my eye until the swelling came down to a level that was less horrifying. By the time we got to church I looked fine but the skin around my lips itched again and had gotten rough and chapped. By the end of the day, I looked up the dosage of the medicine (which I saw had expired in 2013) and took another pill before bed.

Flash forward to the next morning. Like the movie, “Groundhog Day”, I crawled out of bed again, looked in the mirror, and saw another monster looking back at me.  Repeat the process, and a couple hours later I am once again returning to normal-ish.

I’ve got to figure this out. No new soaps, foods, lotions. No, wait, I rubbed some lotion on my mother’s arms at the nursing home on Friday from the bottle that had appeared on her nightstand. Surely I would have noticed something sooner than the next morning. It’s a long shot. I looked at the dog, looking up at me expectantly. Wait a minute, wasn’t that about the time they got their monthly flea & tick treatment? They got it on Friday and perhaps I got it on my hands when I petted them or Fionn sneaked onto the bed and rubbed his face on my pillow? Off came all the bedding and into the laundry. Fionn got a good bath, and once the hot water returns, Beezee will get her turn.

If the symptoms go away by tomorrow morning, Sherlock will have won the game. If not, well, I have no answer yet.

 

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Dog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleuthing It

  1. I have found baby shampoo, applied gently to the eyes, can work wonders. Just a thought. I hope solve this mystery soon.

  2. bluestempond says:

    Hmm, that’s an idea. We don’t have any in the house but maybe I’ll go get some.

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    So sorry! I hope you figure out what is causing this soon. I think the flea and tick treatment is a possibility, but it’s odd that its so much worse in the morning. Maybe one of the dog did jump on your bed shortly after you applied the treatment? Please keep us posted, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

